Question

I have a question regarding the subject contest that is scheduled for this coming weekend.
As you can see by my call, I was originally licensed in the United States Number One (1) call district.  However,I now live in the Number Seven (7) call district.  For thecontest, should I sign as WA1MPB/7 and not work any other "7" U. S. stations, or sign as WA1MPB and not work any "1" U. S. stations? Please advise.
Thanks & 73, Earl H. Duda

Replay

As matter of facts, in the USA, the callsigns are no longer linked to geographic areas.  Only the first callsign assignment for a new license is, but there are vanity callsigns for purchase that are not, and when someone moves to another call area, the only option to change a callsign is to ask for a vanity call.  The FCC will not automatically change the call when someone moves from one area to another, except through the vanity call program.   To try to fix this with an artificial portable "/" callsign (as I suggested before), makes the log for DXCC or WAZ broken and defeats the purpose of encouraging new entrants to the contest.  So I recommend to use the legal callsign no matter which call area it is in, and our software will check the real geographic state via USAP DataBase (thanks to Dave, AA6YQ) and cosequently assign the correct district number. All QSO done between station in same call area will not imply any penalty or disqualification. Only ZERO points count for that QSO.

73, Frank i2dmi

 

Tree questions

A Japanesee Ham asked: 

Dear contest manger of Volta RTTY Contest ,It is somewhat difficult to interpret following clause of your rule.MULTIPLIERS: A  multiplier of 1 is given for each Country contacted. The same Country may be claimed again if a different band is used. An aditional multiplier is given for each INTERCONTINENTAL COUNTRY (DX) worked on at least 4 bands. A contact with a station which would count as multiplier will only be valid if that station appears in at least 4 other logs, or contest log is received from that station.(1) What do you mean by "at least 4 bands"?  In your rule, there is following statement "BANDS: 3,5 - 7 - 14 -21 - 28 MHz Amateur bands". If I got 1 multi at one band, just 4 bands left. In other words, which interpretation is correct?

 (1-1) If I made QSO with the same or different Italian station in 5 bands, I get 5 multis.

(1-2) Even if I made QSO with the same or different Italian station in 4 bands, I get only 1 multi. But in case of 5 bands, I get 2 multis.

Replay # 1

If you made QSO with the same or different Italian station in 4 bands, you get  an extra multiplier 4+1=5 multis.

 (2) What do you mean by "A contact with a station which would count as multiplier will only be valid if that station appears in at least 4 other logs, or contest log is received from that station. ?

 (2-1) Normally first contact with the station in the country is counted as a multi and marked in the log. If that station does not satisfy the rule and that station is the only one contact in that country, it is OK that no multi will not be given. But if there are several other QSOs with the stations in that country which satisfy the rule but no mark in the log, will multi be given or not? NO

 (2-2) Your rule seems to apply only for multi. How about for point?

Replay #2 

THIS IS NOT A PROBLEM FOR YOU. THIS IS A PROBLEM FOR US: IF YOU MADE QSO WITH (example FO8AA) YOU MUST INCLUDE IN YOUR LOG THIS QSO! The manager then will look for FO8AA LOG. If FO8AA doesn’t send his log The manager will check if other people during the contest worked this station (FO8AA not FO8BB); If other stations – at least 5 stations – logged a qso with FO8AA, the country FO8A  will count for all contestant as a VALID MULTIPLIER!! If not it will counted as: POINT=0  MULTIPLIER=0.

 (3) What do you mean by "INTERCONTINENTAL COUNTRY"?  In order to get additional multi, do I need to make QSO(s) with the station in different continent?

Replay # 3

DIFFERENT CONTINENT for you are: AFRICA – EUROPE - SOUTH AMERICA – NORTH AMERICA  - OCEANIA

.Best 73, de I2DMI  CONTEST MANAGER

Question

Sirs:
Referring to the 2004 rules of A. VOLTA Contest on www.contestvolta.com
(quote)
MULTIPLIERS: A  multiplier of 1 is given for each Country contacted. The same Country may be claimed again if a different band is used. An aditional multiplier is given for each INTERCONTINENTAL COUNTRY (DX) worked on at least 4 bands.
(unquote) Please clarify: Is a call area (in JA-VE-VK-W-ZL) also an intercontinental DX country and thus each of them gives an additional multiplier? Thank you.
Tapani/OH2LU


Replay

Hi Tapani, thank you for your interest in our "CONTEST VOLTA".
The answer to your question is:  NO Each call-area is counted only as multiplier but doesn't count as a different DX country. Working those 5 countries you can ask a maximum of 5 extra multipliers (W,JA, VE, VK, ZL)  not 25 (w1...0, JA1.., e.s.o).
Ciao 73  gl in test

i2dmi - frank





QUESTION.

My software doesn’t make any calculation and I cannot submit the CABRILLO file with the points field filled. 

Replay

You can leave blank or 000 the field “points”  (columns 86-88)  because the software checks your zone and your correspondent zone for the correct points value. You can also submit your logs without the “claimed score” value. We do that for you